Robin Robertson

(b. 1955)

"We are drawn to edges, to our own/parapets and sea-walls:" - 'Apart', Robin Robertson

Share this page

Share this page Bookmark and Share


These poems come from a special recording for the Poetry Archive:

! Missing Player !
To listen to the Archive's recordings, software called Adobe Flash Player (version 10) needs to be installed on your computer and you need to enable JavaScript in your browser settings.

Adobe Flash Player can be downloaded, free of charge, here.

Select bibliography

  • Firebird 3: New Writing from Britain and Ireland (editor), Penguin, 1984 - out of print
  • Firebird 4: New Writing from Britain and Ireland (editor), Penguin, 1985 - out of print
  • The Moon Disposes: Poems 1954-1987 (editor), Peter Redgrove, Secker & Warburg, 1987
  • 32 Counties: Photographs of Ireland by Donovan Wylie with new writing by thirty-two Irish Writers (editor), Secker & Warburg, 1989
  • Camera Obscura, Colophon Press (limited edition), 1996
  • A Painted Field, Picador, 1997; Harcourt (New York) 1998; Guanda (Milan) 2002 as Camera Obscura
  • Penguin Modern Poets 13 (contributor with Michael Hofmann and Michael Longley), Penguin, 1998
  • Selected Poems (editor), Peter Redgrove, Jonathan Cape, 1999
  • Slow Air, Picador, 2002; Harcourt (New York) 2003
  • Mortification: Writers' Stories of their Public Shame (editor), Fourth Estate, 2003; Fourth Estate (New York) 2004; Guanda (Milan) 2005; Losfeld/Gallimard (Paris) 2006; Goldmann Verlag, 2005; AST (Moscow) 2006
  • Swithering, Picador, 2006; Harcourt (New York) 2006; House of Anansi (Toronto) 2006; Guanda (Milan), 2008
  • Actaeon: The Early Years, Grand Phoenix Press (Nimes - limited edition), 2006
  • The Deleted World: versions of Tomas Transtr√∂mer (translator), Enitharmon, 2006
  • Robin Robertson Reading from his poems, CD, The Poetry Archive, 2007
  • Medea (translator), Vintage, 2008
  • The Wrecking Light Picador, 2010 Anansi (2010), Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2011)
  • Swithering, Bonnefant Press, Banholt/House of Anansi, Toronto, limited edition sampler, 2008
Robin Robertson (b. 1955) is a poet of austere and meticulous diction, tempered by a sensuous music. He was born in Scone, Perthshire, and brought up on the north-east coast of Scotland but has spent much of his professional life in London where he is currently Poetry Editor at Jonathan Cape. Robertson came late to publishing in terms of his own work, his debut collection A Painted Field appearing in 1997. However, the assuredness of his poetry made an immediate impression, winning the Aldeburgh Poetry Festival Prize, the Saltire Society First Book of the Year Award and the Forward Poetry Prize for Best First Collection. His two subsequent books have also attracted acclaim, culminating in his most recent, Swithering, winning the Forward Poetry Prize for Best Collection. In 2004 he received the E. M. Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Swithering, a Scottish word meaning both hesitation and "things that are indeterminate..." illuminates that aspect of Robertson's work in which the narrators of his poems are subject to contradictory impulses. One significant dilemma is whether to stay or to leave, as encapsulated in the final metaphor of 'Swimming in the Woods' where a damp imprint in the shape of a butterfly is the only trace of a woman's presence. Elsewhere Robertson's recourse to classical myth explores that transgressive territory between the human and the animal, for example Asterion, the minotaur, trapped in his labyrinth of bestial appetite and human loneliness. Underlying this indeterminacy is an inescapable sense of fall: Robertson's work is "condemned to these patterns of love and loss" ('Swimming in the Woods'), like the narrator of 'Donegal' who watches his daughter, knowing that she is going "where he could not follow". However, this bleakness is often exhilarating, largely due to the intense physicality of Robertson's poetry which can celebrate sensuous existence even whilst describing its decline, as in his evocation of peeling an artichoke. This joy in language as sound is clear in Robertson's reading, for instance in the way he emphasises the alliteration of the 'k' sound in his beautiful sonnet, 'Wedding the Locksmith's Daughter', an aural echo of a turning key. His deep voice with its relish for language is finely tuned to the rhythms of these "darkly chiselled poems" (Kazuo Ishiguro).

His recording was made on 25 January 2007 at The Audio Workshop, London and was produced by Richard Carrington.


1995 Hawthornden Fellowship

1995, Forward Poetry Prize (Best Single Poem - shortlist), 'The Flaying of Marsyas'

1997 Poetry Book Society Recommendation, A Painted Field

1997 Aldeburgh Poetry Festival First Collection Prize, A Painted Field

1997 Forward Poetry Prize (Best First Collection - winner), A Painted Field

1997 Saltire Society Scottish First Book of the Year, A Painted Field

1998 Arts Council Writers Award

1998 New York Foundation for the Arts Award

2000 Authors' Foundation Award, Society of Authors

2002 Poetry Book Society Recommendation, Slow Air

2004 E.M. Forster Award, American Academy of Arts and Letters

2004 Next Generation Poets selection

2006 Poetry Book Society Choice, Swithering

2006 T.S. Eliot Prize (shortlist), Swithering

2006 Forward Poetry Prize (Best Collection - winner), Swithering

Search for a poem or a poet:

My Archive

Create lists of your favourite poems and poets and share them with friends.

Browse all poets by name

View all poets

Browse all poems by title

View all poems

Glossary of poetic terms

View full glossary
Historic recordings Hear famous voices from poetry's past.

View all historic recordings
Support The Poetry Archive The Poetry Archive depends on donations from public bodies and private individuals. Find out how you can contribute to the work of the Archive.